The 21st Australasian Document Computing Symposium

Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

6-7 December 2016

Special Interest Group on
Information Retrieval

Welcome to ADCS 2016

The 21st Australasian Document Computing Symposium (ADCS 2016) will be held at Monash University (Caulfield Campus) in December, 2016.

ADCS 2016 will be co-located with ALTA 2016.

Aim of the symposium

ADCS 2016 is an opportunity for researchers and practitioners in document management and information retrieval (IR) to meet and present their work. The symposium aims to cover all aspects of Document Computing - issues ranging from the fundamentals of document architectures and standards for markup, through storage, management, retrieval, authentication and workflow, to active and virtual documents. The symposium emphasises both commercial and academic issues by encouraging a variety of submissions.

Important Deadlines

10 October 2016 - 11:59pm AEDT (extended) Deadline for long paper, short paper, or industry status report submissions
25 October 2016 Notification of acceptance
2 November 2016 Deadline for unrefereed abstract submissions
10 November 2016 (extended) Camera ready copies due
5 December, 2016 Tutorials (shared with ALTA'16)
6-7 December 2016 Conference held in Caulfield Campus, Monash University, Melbourne
All deadlines are on the date specified at 11:59 pm in the UTC-12 timezone.


The ADCS Organising Committee is currently seeking sponsors for ADCS 2016. Information regarding the sponsorship can be found in this flyer. Please contact the Program Chairs for further information.

Organising Committee

General Chair

Sarvnaz Karimi, CSIRO

Programme Chairs

Programme Committee

  • Leif Azzopardi, Strathclyde University
  • Peter Bailey, Microsoft (Bing)
  • Matt Crane, University of Waterloo
  • Shane Culpepper, RMIT University
  • David Eyers, University of Otago
  • Gaya Jayasinghe, CSIRO
  • Sally Jo Cunningham, Waikato University
  • David Hawking, Microsoft (Bing)
  • Bevan Koopman, CSIRO
  • Alistair Moffat, The University of Melbourne
  • Laurence Park, University of Western Sydney
  • Falk Scholer, RMIT University
  • Laurianne Sitbon, Queensland University of Technology
  • James A. Thom, RMIT University
  • Paul Thomas, Microsoft (Bing)
  • Andrew Trotman, University of Otago
  • Andrew Turpin, The University of Melbourne
  • Alexandra Uitdenbogerd, RMIT University
  • Michiko Yasukawa, Gunma University
  • Guido Zuccon, Queensland University of Technology